Klaviyo Alternatives for Shopify: How to Choose in 2026
Klaviyo alternatives for Shopify by situation: lean team, SMS-first, WhatsApp, budget. Seven options profiled from official sources, plus what to check first.

Klaviyo alternatives are the email, SMS and retention tools a Shopify brand can run lifecycle messaging with instead of Klaviyo. They differ on three things: how they bill, which channels they cover, and how much work they leave to you. This guide is a decision aid, not a ranking. Klaviyo is a capable tool, and for some brands the right answer is to stay and trim the bill.
Every vendor fact below comes from that vendor's own pages, read in October 2026. Where I cite a price or limit I say so and link it. Where reasons come from reviews, I attribute them.
Quick Answer
Pick by situation. Stay inside Shopify (Messaging and Campaign Autopilot) for the least overhead, choose Omnisend, Brevo or Mailchimp for a separate email and SMS tool with different billing, Postscript if SMS is your main channel, Zoko or Shopify's own WhatsApp campaigns if WhatsApp is, and a retention tool that runs the program if nobody on your team will build flows. Before switching anything, check whether trimming Klaviyo's billable profiles fixes the cost problem, because its help center says suppressed, unsubscribed and deleted profiles stop counting once processed.
Table of Contents
- Why brands look for Klaviyo alternatives
- Before you switch: trim the bill
- How to choose by situation
- Klaviyo alternatives compared
- Profiles of each option
- Five questions to ask every vendor
- Switching safely
- Tranthor: an option when nobody will build the flows
- FAQ
Why Brands Look for Klaviyo Alternatives
The billing model. Klaviyo's billing documentation, updated March 25, 2026, defines an active profile as any profile that can be emailed through Klaviyo, regardless of consent status. That includes people who typed an email at checkout without opting in. Plans are based on active profiles and on emails sent, and your plan must cover your active profile count. Klaviyo's FAQ on the February 18, 2025 billing changes says customers must be on an email plan that matches or exceeds their active profile count. For a brand with a long tail of old, inactive contacts, cost grows with the list rather than with revenue.
What reviewers say. On Klaviyo's Shopify App Store listing, the rating is 4.7 from 3,370 reviews. In the lower-rated reviews, dated May to October 2026, the recurring themes are the editor, price growth tied to profile counts, and support. Klaviyo replies publicly to several of them. These are reviewers' opinions, not findings, and most reviews on the listing are five-star.
Fit, not capability. Klaviyo's pricing page lists email, SMS, RCS, mobile app and WhatsApp marketing as channels. A missing channel may not be the issue. Check who will build and maintain the flows, and what per-message rates look like in your countries.
Before You Switch: Trim the Bill
Klaviyo's help center describes three groups. Billable profiles are those that can receive at least one type of marketing and are not suppressed or deleted. Suppressed or unsubscribed profiles stay in the account for reporting but stop counting once fully processed. Deleted profiles stop counting and cannot be recovered. It can take up to 72 hours for the count to refresh, and the plan does not downgrade by itself: you choose a lower tier in billing once the count has updated, or use the auto-downgrade option in billing preferences, which the help center says requires flexible sending.
A hypothetical example. A Dubai skincare brand has 12,000 profiles in Klaviyo. Of those, 3,000 have unsubscribed, so 9,000 are billable. Another 2,000 have not opened or bought in over a year. The owner sends a short "still want to hear from us?" email, suppresses the non-responders, and the billable count falls to 7,000. If that crosses a tier boundary, the next plan down is available. Check your own tier boundaries before assuming it does.
This is not an argument against switching. It is a cheap test of whether the tool or the list is the problem.
How to Choose by Situation
| Your situation | What to prioritize | Options to look at |
|---|---|---|
| Lean team, no one to build flows | Low maintenance and approval control | Shopify Messaging with Campaign Autopilot; a retention tool that drafts and runs campaigns |
| SMS-first | Per-message rates and destination coverage | Postscript; Klaviyo, Omnisend, Brevo or Mailchimp with SMS added |
| WhatsApp or MENAP | WhatsApp support, Meta rules, local consent | Shopify Messaging, Zoko, Brevo, or Klaviyo, which lists WhatsApp |
| Tight budget | The billing unit and the free tier | Shopify Messaging, Omnisend, Brevo, Mailchimp |
| Complex segmentation | Event data and testing | Test your hardest segment in each trial; switching rarely helps if the rule is unusual |
| Enterprise | Security review, data model, support terms | Staying with Klaviyo or an engineering-led messaging tool; run a procurement process, not a feature table |
On the WhatsApp row: the tool question and the legal question are separate. For consent and local rules in the Gulf, see WhatsApp marketing rules in the UAE and Saudi Arabia. For recovery flows that use WhatsApp, see WhatsApp abandoned cart recovery.
Klaviyo Alternatives Compared
Channels are as listed on each vendor's own pages. Free-tier figures are as of October 2026 and change, so confirm them before you rely on them.
| Tool | Best fit | Channels listed | Free tier (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Klaviyo (baseline) | Teams with someone who builds flows | Email, SMS, RCS, mobile app, WhatsApp | 250 active profiles, 500 email sends a month |
| Shopify Messaging | Stores that want to stay in the admin | Email, SMS, WhatsApp | 10,000 emails a month |
| Omnisend | Ecommerce-focused email and SMS | Email, SMS, web push | 250 contacts, 500 emails a month |
| Mailchimp | Existing Mailchimp users | Email, SMS (paid-plan add-on) | Free plan listed; limits not stated on the page read |
| Brevo | Mixed channels, usage-based sending | Email, SMS, WhatsApp, push | Free plan, up to 300 emails a day |
| Postscript | SMS-first brands | SMS, RCS, email | Not stated on the pages read |
| Zoko | WhatsApp-first brands | Not stated on the pages read |
Profiles of Each Option
Shopify Messaging
- What it is: Shopify's own marketing app, formerly Shopify Email. It sends email, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns from the admin, with automations for email and SMS.
- Fits: Stores that want one fewer tool, and brands testing Shopify's Campaign Autopilot. Check Shopify's help pages for exactly how its approval step works.
- Pricing note: As of October 2026, Shopify says up to 10,000 emails a month are free, then USD 1 per 1,000.
- Limitation: SMS is available in select regions, and Shopify's WhatsApp requirements exclude customers in the United States, China and several sanctioned regions. Check your markets in the admin.
- Source: Shopify Messaging help. For a wider view of what Shopify covers, read Shopify CRM. For a side-by-side with Tranthor, see Tranthor vs Shopify Email.
Omnisend
- What it is: Marketing automation for ecommerce stores, with email, SMS and web push on its homepage.
- Fits: Shopify brands that want a Klaviyo-style tool with a free plan to test. Omnisend states it offers a free migration from Klaviyo; that is the vendor's claim, so ask what it covers.
- Limitation: Omnisend's own Omnisend vs Klaviyo comparison says it does not support WhatsApp natively, so look elsewhere if WhatsApp is a requirement.
- Source: Omnisend pricing lists a free plan with 250 contacts and 500 emails a month as of October 2026. For a side-by-side with Tranthor, see Tranthor vs Omnisend.
Mailchimp
- What it is: An email marketing tool with a Shopify integration that syncs Shopify segments for email and SMS.
- Fits: Teams already on Mailchimp who want store data in the same place.
- Limitation: Its Shopify page states that marketing automation flows are only available on paid plans, and SMS is an add-on to paid plans in select countries.
- Source: Mailchimp's Shopify integration page.
Brevo
- What it is: A messaging tool that lists email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and live chat as channels, with a Shopify app that syncs customers, purchase history and order status.
- Fits: Brands that want several channels in one tool. Its pricing page lists a free plan and says new accounts can send up to 300 emails a day.
- Limitation: SMS credits are sold separately, and WhatsApp appears under the Professional plan's additional channels, so check that tier before you plan around it.
- Source: Brevo's Shopify integration page.
Postscript
- What it is: A Shopify-listed messaging tool that describes SMS, RCS and email as its channels. It also offers Postscript Plus, a service where in-house SMS strategists run your SMS program.
- Fits: Brands where SMS carries most of the retention load.
- Limitation: Its Shopify App Store listing does not list supported SMS countries, so confirm yours before committing. That matters if you sell in the Gulf or Europe.
- Source: Postscript.
Zoko
- What it is: A WhatsApp commerce and marketing tool for Shopify brands. Its site describes broadcasts to segments, a shared team inbox, and flows for abandoned carts, cash-on-delivery confirmation and reorder prompts, and it calls itself an official Meta Business Partner.
- Fits: Brands that sell cash on delivery and talk to customers on WhatsApp.
- Limitation: The pages I read describe WhatsApp, not email campaigns, so plan to pair it with an email tool.
- Source: Zoko.
Five Questions to Ask Every Vendor
Put the same questions to each tool, in writing, with your real numbers.
| Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| How is a billable contact counted, and do unsubscribed or inactive contacts count? | Klaviyo's rule is above; every tool has its own |
| What happens when I exceed my plan in a busy month? | Peak-season sends can trigger a tier change |
| What do SMS and WhatsApp cost per message in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the Netherlands and Switzerland? | Rates and delivery vary by destination |
| Do unsubscribes and consent status carry over, and which system wins in a conflict? | A lost unsubscribe is a customer-trust problem |
| Who builds my first four flows, and how long does it take? | Setup labor is part of the cost |
Compare tools on total cost, not the fee alone:
Real monthly cost = software fee + SMS and WhatsApp per-message fees + (hours spent on flows x hourly cost)
A hypothetical: if keeping flows alive takes 10 hours a month and your time is worth AED 150 an hour, that is AED 1,500, which can exceed the fee gap between two tools.
Switching Safely
If a pilot convinces you, move in this order:
- Export with consent intact. Take profiles with their subscription status and the suppression list, so nobody who unsubscribed gets mail from the new tool.
- Rebuild four flows first. Welcome, abandoned checkout, post-purchase, win-back. Campaign ideas that carry over well are in our repeat purchase campaign examples.
- Run both for a few weeks. Split by segment so no customer is messaged twice about the same event.
- Ramp volume gradually on the new sending setup rather than moving the whole list in one day.
- Cut over after one flow wins. Compare revenue per recipient for the same flow in both tools, not opens.
Whatever you pick, the tool is only half the program. The plan behind it is in Shopify retention strategy, and the Gulf context is in ecommerce retention marketing in the UAE.
Tranthor: An Option When Nobody Will Build the Flows
Tranthor is one option for a lean Shopify brand that wants retention run for it rather than built by it. It finds the repeat-purchase moment, drafts the campaign, and starts in review: the first run of every playbook waits for your approval. Auto-send is a per-playbook setting that is off by default and unlocks after one approved run. Limits you approve on contact frequency, spacing, daily sends and discount percentage are enforced at send time. It respects subscriptions and unsubscribes.
- Fits: a brand with no dedicated CRM person that wants approval control without drawing flows.
- Channels: autonomous sends use email and SMS. WhatsApp is live in journeys.
- Limitation: autonomous WhatsApp is not live yet. If WhatsApp automation is your main need, look at the tools above first.
For the direct comparison, see Tranthor vs Klaviyo.
Sources: How Klaviyo billing works, Klaviyo FAQ on the February 18 billing changes, Klaviyo pricing, Klaviyo on the Shopify App Store, Klaviyo lower-rated Shopify App Store reviews, Shopify Messaging pricing, Shopify Messaging help, Shopify WhatsApp marketing requirements, Omnisend, Omnisend pricing, Mailchimp Shopify integration, Brevo pricing, Brevo Shopify integration, Postscript, Postscript on the Shopify App Store, Zoko.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Klaviyo alternative for Shopify?
There is no single best option because it depends on your situation. Shopify Messaging suits stores that want to stay in the admin. Omnisend, Brevo and Mailchimp are separate email and SMS tools with different pricing. Postscript is SMS-first, Zoko is WhatsApp-first, and retention tools that run campaigns for you suit brands with nobody to build flows.
Are there free Klaviyo alternatives?
Several tools list free plans. As of October 2026, Shopify Messaging includes 10,000 free emails a month, Omnisend's free plan covers 250 contacts and 500 emails, Brevo's free plan sends up to 300 emails a day, and Mailchimp lists a free plan. Klaviyo's own free plan covers 250 active profiles and 500 email sends. Limits differ, so compare them with your list size.
What is a cheaper alternative to Klaviyo?
Cheaper depends on how each tool counts billable contacts and which channels you use. Klaviyo bills on active profiles and emails sent, and unsubscribed, suppressed and deleted profiles stop counting once processed. Trim your list first, then get quotes from two or three tools using your real contact count and your SMS or WhatsApp volumes by country.
Why do people leave Klaviyo?
Reasons vary by brand. Reviewers on Klaviyo's Shopify App Store listing mention the editor, price growth tied to profile counts, and support. Klaviyo bills by active profiles, which includes anyone it can email regardless of consent status. Some brands switch for channel or market fit instead, and others stay and trim their lists.
Does Klaviyo support WhatsApp?
Klaviyo's pricing page lists WhatsApp marketing among its channels, and its Shopify App Store listing describes email, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns. A WhatsApp need therefore does not rule Klaviyo out by itself. Check per-message rates and delivery in the countries you sell to, such as the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Egypt, before you decide.
Should I trust Reddit threads and top-ten lists when choosing a Klaviyo alternative?
Use them to generate questions, not answers. A Reddit thread is one person's experience at one list size and moment in time, and some top-ten lists are published by vendors that sell an alternative. Verify billing rules and channel support on each vendor's official pages, then test one flow with your own data before you switch.
Keep reading

Customer Lifetime Value on Shopify: 3 Formulas and Examples
Customer lifetime value on Shopify: three CLV formulas (simple, margin-adjusted, cohort), an AED worked example, a good LTV:CAC answer, what Shopify reports.

AI Retention Marketing Playbook for Ecommerce
A practical AI retention marketing playbook for ecommerce teams: detect churn risk, prioritize lifecycle moments, and launch better campaigns.

Repeat Purchase Rate: Formula, Benchmarks, How to Raise It
Repeat purchase rate is the share of customers who bought more than once. Get the formula, two worked examples, Shopify steps, and benchmarks with methods.